//Process I — Controllers & Set up___

Coming into live electronics as someone who is coming from a more physical instrumental background initially being pretty green on Ableton live and trigger pads and controllers I was starting from scratch with learning the basics and main functions of the program.

Through the year I have experimented with different ways of setting up my sessions and learning stuff like how to utilise return tracks (which I have ended up using to extreme measures and which plays a large part of my live concept.) Because of my extensive use of vocal improvisation, layering and live impro I have found through a process of experimenting that by connecting return tracks with different effects & a looper to my vocal track, and mapping them to a Nanokorg or Novation controller I expand the possibilities I have for improvisation and a larger playing field for also using my own vocals more like a traditional instrument.

I now have a basic set up that includes a certain amount of return tracks containing effects and a looper that I start with as a beginning point in every new session I create. Effects tend to be chosen on my background experience from working with guitar pedals, but also varies from project to project and different requirements for what needs to be achieved.

I have always been sweeter on the low frequencies and noise measures utilised by performers such as live improvising performers Maja Ratkje, Stian Westerhus and noise artist such as Pharmakon and SUNN O)). I believe my choices for effects comes from a background of looking into guitar pedals, effects and tones, being familiar with physical pedals and using effects that are often main when playing guitar tones such as reverb, delay and distortion. I like big soundscapes and have found through a bit of exploring that this is easily achieved and performed through adding large cathedral reverb layers to my vocals.

Controller wise atm. I am using a small not considerably expensive, but very useful controller with knobs and faders from Nanokorg. What I particularly like about this controller is that it has its own clear set up for looping that is very physically and visually compatible for mapping it with the Ableton looper which makes it really easy to use. The only thing about this controller is it tends to be unstable and several musical retailers have told me they have gone out of production. I am now therefore in the process of fading this one out for another similar controller from Novation.

I also use a Native Instrument Machine micro mainly for its pads & live triggering and my Microkorg XL as a midi keyboard for playing & sampling.

Leave a Reply

